I’m so glad I do it wrong!

Self soothing is the newest fad for hipster and millennial parents’ bedtime rituals.

You read ‘how’ on your electronic device you surfed, “How to get my child to sleep before I go crazy!” from child sleep experts who have completed long term child studies.

You put your baby/child in a bed.

You hug and kiss them, close the door in the dark room,

and then…

they eventually go to sleep all by themselves.

They teach themselves self soothing strategies all by themselves! Millennial babies are intelligent.

No night light,

no timing to check on them after they have cried for 45 minutes..or was it 30 minutes? I can’t seem to remember the older text books…,

…no long drives to relax them or stop them from crying so loud,

absolutely no rocking chairs…no way!

Twenty first century new age children self soothe and that is the up-to-date parenting fad.

Mommies and daddies must get on to important grown up evening time.

I am a witness!! It’s incredible…

Parents have the evening for quiet relaxation, work, sex, and even chocolate.

Journal Entry: June 2017

Last night Luke covered his little eyes with his blue, brown and white soft blankets, letting me quietly whisper while massaging his fingers and counting them; one, two, three, four, five…then circling his palm and dot it in the middle… with a boop! I could feel his little body relax. To stay awake he would silently try to count his fingers on his own but then would hand me his hand. He plops his leg over my waist to scratch, but also to make sure I am still on the bed next to him; like a sort of seat belt to keep me strapped close. As he quiets, he holds my hand just to know I won’t leave and then he finally closes his eyes and succumbs to the sand man’s spell. I sing quietly while I listen to his breath in rhythm. It calms me as I lay still while next to him with his hand still holding mine tightly. Every single night and nap time, while mommy and daddy have been away, I have laid next to this three year old little man just as I did with every single one of my own babies, scratching their legs and arms while quietly talking about the day  or telling them stories as it changes to night. It was cozy time then and now. Time to create peace for them. Time to show them that calm can be part of their day. Time to show them that when night time comes, I am still close; still here.

This is not proper anymore. It is not teaching them how to fall asleep on their own. How to self soothe. I have done it wrong all these years. My babies don’t even remember, but I do! And, oh, as I now do it with my grandchildren, I think to myself,

‘I would not trade this moment for all the jewels in the world.’

Bless your self-soothed baby’s heart, who sits in a huge dark room in a bed cuddling a lovey for security all alone figuring out strategies to self soothe. They are champs.

I may be more tired than you as you make passionate love in the early evening, or eat your secret ice cream stash watching your favorite show earlier than me, but I am creating cozy with a child I adore. I am filling up a soul. And when I do it I not only give, but I get more back in return.

I’m so glad I do it wrong!

Oh my dears…I’m going to stay old fashioned forever.

 

 

Leave a Reply

